Tags

Curse you NaPoWriMo, for making me care about poetry. Before it was just something to help ease writer’s block and toss away once I was done with it. Now it falls squarely in the realm of my OCD and perfectionism. I haven’t posted any in days because a) the one I’ve been working on I can’t seem to finish to my satisfaction, and b) every time I’ve tried to write anything in the last few days I’ve promptly passed out. Whoops. From here on out I’ll just skip around as the mood strikes me, but I will finish every day.

For day 16, I’m ignoring the prompt. It seems like too much work for someone trying desperately to catch up, haha.

~~~~~

Put my pen to the paper

Make a rhythm machete

And take your head off with an ease

In a lyrical breeze

Of pain, of sorrow

Of triumph

Until the break of faith

And loss of vacant mindsets

I will cut and I will bleed

Until you beg and plead

And plead, and plead, and plead

For more.